Tuesday, 6 June 2017

Musculoskeletal System

In our muscular skeletal system, there are 3 types of muscles. Their names are Cardiac, Skeletal and Smooth muscles. All of these types of muscles have a job, involuntary and voluntary. Involuntary meaning it moves continuously without our control and voluntary meaning the person controls the movement. Cardiac muscles are found in the heart are involuntary. Skeletal muscles are found throughout the skeleton and are voluntary. Smooth muscles are found in our organs (intestines etc) and are involuntary.

The names for when describing a movement in our muscles are called Agonist (meaning it's shortening) and Antagonists (meaning it's lengthening). An example for this is your Biceps Brachii and Triceps Brachii. When you bend your elbow up towards your face, your biceps brachii get shorter which makes it the Agonist and your triceps brachii gets longer which makes it the Antagonist. The movements our bodies do are called flexion, extension, abduction and adduction. An example of when doing a movement while playing a sport is hip flexion. This happens when you kick the ball. Your Gluteus Maximus becomes the Antagonist, and your Iliopsoas becomes the Agonist. This is because when your hip goes forward for the kick, your Gluteus Maximus gets longer and you Iliopsaos gets shorter. To tell if your hip is hip flexion or hip extension, is when your hip or elbow etc goes forward it is a flexion movement. If it goes backwards it is extension.

An activity we did was to draw the muscles and bones we have learnt on a jumpsuit that our team mate wore. On one side will be the bones and the other would be the muscles. Our task was to draw the correct bone and it's name, vice versa for the muscles.

Here are some pictures.


Simon Swinton said...

This looks cool as!

Post a Comment